W5_WAS_Making Decison with Multi Attributes – Cell Phone


Step 1- Problem or Opportunity Statement


What do you think about cellphone? Yes, telecommunication device that almost every person on earth has. And there’s a proverb: Leaving home without my phone almost feels like leaving the house naked.

Currently my cellphone is HTC sensation. I want to upgrade it with a better one, because my cellphone’s performance is getting slower after 2.5 years of use. In this case I will use Multi Attribute Decision Making Method.

 

Step 2 – “FEASIBLE alternatives”

I saw in the market and searched the specification and feature that I need, not what I want. These are my cellphone candidates:


From left to right: Blackberry Q10, HTC One, Apple iPhone 5, Sony Experia Z.

Step 3- Develop the outcomes for each alternative (minimum 2)

Each cellphone’s features are listed below to make it easier to compare:


Step 4- Selection of the acceptable criteria.

By comparing the result, we will find out which model will be a better one. I use non-dimensional scaling method. These phone’s feature are qualitative. Then they’re transformed into quantitative non dimensional value and I will seek for the biggest score.



Step 5- Analysis/ Comparison of the Alternatives against the Criteria

Table below shown the sum of each criteria’s scores:


Sony Experia Z scored (0.7), followed by iPhone 5 (0.47), Blackberry Q10 (0.37) and HTC One (0.34). Sony has the highest score, because it has the lowest price among the other 3, and has good feature. It has advantages which I wanted.

Step 6- Selection of the Best/ Preferred Alternative Compared against the Criteria

From the criteria, I shall choose Sony Experia Z for my next cellphone. The score also significantly higher than the others.

Step 7- Performance Monitoring and Post Evaluation of Result/ Follow up Assessment

As long as I rank the attributes of features in such way I did in this calculation, Sony Experia will be the best choice. The choice might be different if I ranked (for the example) Gorilla glass or slightest weight as the most important.

Also, I need to browse satisfactory survey of Sony Experia Z’s users. If users are happy, probably I’ll be happy too 😀

REFERENCES

Sullivan, W. G., Wicks, E. M., & Koelling, C. P. (2012). Chapter 2 Cost Concept and Design Economics. In Engineering Economy (15th ed., . Chapter 14 Pp. 551 – 573). Upper Saddle River, N.J: Prentice Hall.

Westney, Ricahrd E, (1997). The Engineer Cost Handbook. 1st ed. New York: Marcel Dekker,Inc..

GSM Arena staff (2013). Blackberry Q10. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.gsmarena.com/blackberry_q10-5274.php. [Last Accessed 28 September 2013].

GSM Arena Staff (2013). Apple Iphone 5. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.gsmarena.com/apple_iphone_5-4910.php. [Last Accessed 28 September 2013].

GSM Arena staff (2013). HTC One. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_one-5313.php. [Last Accessed 28 September 2013].

GSM Arena staff (2013). Sony Experia Z. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_xperia_z-5204.php. [Last Accessed 28 September 2013].


2 Comments

Filed under Week 05, Wirawan ASP

2 responses to “W5_WAS_Making Decison with Multi Attributes – Cell Phone

  1. AWESOME case study, Pak Wirawan and you did a really great job on your analysis, following our step by step process almost perfectly. (For step 4, you would have been better off if you had listed what your most important criteria were. (See Table 14.6 on page 559 of Engineering Economy)

    But other than that, you did a great job.

    Just curious, why wasn’t the Samsung Galaxy considered? Also, one other question- how did you factor in that it looks like Blackberry is probably not going to survive? Maybe instead of country of origin you might have considered including market share analysis?

    The reason I ask is because I am going through EXACTLY the same analysis right now myself. I currently have a 4 year old iPhone and am trying to decide whether to upgrade or wait another year….

    Keep up the good work!! Looking forward to seeing a few more like this in the coming weeks…..

    BR,
    Dr. PDG Jakarta

  2. Dr. Paul,

    The reason I did not put samsung to my comparison was because I had bad experience with samsung tablet. After 6 months using suddenly it won’t charge.

    Actually I did not consider about market share analysis, blackberry has less score because the display is smaller and the weight is heavier than the others.

    Thank you and i will do my best.

    -WAS-

Leave a Reply

